5:45 am- What’s a Girl to Do?

Well, friends, it’s 5:45 am and I’ve been up for an hour. This has been an interesting morning. Sharing a bed with someone who has been coughing and blowing his nose for the past three days sure makes the nights interesting. At one point, Fernando coughed right in my face. Thanks- I love you, too, darling.

I finally got up and decided to be productive. Apparently to me productivity means playing on the computer. One of my 30 Before 30 goals was to take a monthlong Facebook hiatus, which started December 21. I considered making it longer because at present, being on Facebook feels like having teeth pulled. I don’t know why; this seems to happen to me every few years and I need a break.

Since I had nothing better to do this early morning and I can’t work out just yet because I hurt my neck, I decided to go back on Facebook since I’ve made it past the month mark.

Before the hiatus, I found myself wasting more than an hour every day of my life on Facebook. That’s just unnecessary. It became an excuse for why I couldn’t work out, why I couldn’t go for a walk, why I couldn’t do laundry… A website should not have that kind of hold on me. And let’s be honest, it’s not even that COOL! I’m willing to make those kinds of excuses for cross-stitching, but Facebook just shouldn’t merit that kind of attention.

While off of Facebook, I didn’t really miss it. I’m glad that it helps me stay connected to my friends, but it also frustrates me that we seem to have morphed into a society that feels a need to share every little thought that’s in our heads. So many of the posts are so whiny (mine included) that it makes me sad. What if instead of whining about our lives on social media, we actually stopped posting, got offline and DID something to improve our lives? Sometimes I find myself trying to think of funny status updates just so I can get more likes and that’s horrifyingly embarrassing. I shouldn’t care if people ‘like’ the things that happen in my life. I  seem to have developed this mentality that I have to post cool things in order to feel like my life has value.  That’s just gross!

I’d like to think that this experiment has broken my Facebook habit, and I think it has- at least for a while. I’ll probably slowly return to my old habits and need another break soon enough, but for now, I’ll settle for this.

PS. Stayed tuned for a cool update soon! I’ve got some big blog changes in the works!

One response to this post.

  1. I should really try going Facebook-less for a month. I made it two days before I got back on it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

