Starting… Now!

All the cool kids are doing it.

Yoga? No. Line dancing? Heck no! Cross-stitch? … Are you serious?

What am I talking about? 30 before 30! The hip, rad, groovy bucket list all the hipsters are throwing together these days. Why make a life bucket list that changes with the seasons when you can make one that is SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable/Attainable [depends on who you ask], Realistic, Time-related)? Of course, I’ll try to throw in a few nonsensical ones, too, for good measure. Life shouldn’t always be too structured!

I’ve probably had about 17 bucket lists over the years, and I’m fairly certain that the items I created on that list at age seven probably no longer apply (I never got that baby brother and I’m pretty sure I never had any authority on that subject…). However, there are several things I want to accomplish in life and haven’t really been working toward any of them.

Over the past year or so, I’ve become decreasingly active in almost every aspect of my life, with the exception of cross-stitching. I love cross-stitching so much that it has taken over my life and made me uninterested in lots of things. That worries me a bit. Most of my life these days involves cross-stitching, watching TV and eating junk food. It’s certainly not the worst life to live, but it seems so… disappointing.

You want to know something deeply disappointing? In the entire course of 2013, I have not read a single book. I think it mostly has to do with the fact that I can’t cross-stitch while reading or exercising. I’M A LIBRARIAN THAT HASN’T READ IN A YEAR! I think they’re going to take away my library card!

Thus, a quest. A specific, measurable (yet hopefully not boring) quest to do 30 things in just under two years. I’m still building the list, but I’ll be posting the items on this page and will be blogging about them as they’re either in progress or have been completed. And- bonus!- I’ll actually have real things to write about in this blog!

Please, follow along as I navigate this new journey, and help me think of things worth adding to the list! Help me stop being such a cotton-headed ninny muggins and start spending my time doing remarkable things!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Christina on December 16, 2013 at 9:02 am

    Hooray!!! You go girl 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

