Mischief Managed.

Well, friends, it’s true! We up and got ourselves hitched! I’ve had a lot of questions about it all- some wondering whether our parents were present (mine were; his weren’t because they live in Texas and Spain) and others wondering whether it was legal (it was). I figured I’d throw together a little post for those of you dying for the deets.

Both the job I have now and the one I left earlier this year involve a lot of event planning. Some events require minimal effort and some involve 1552+ people. I quickly realized that while I can manage event planning as a day job, I absolutely didn’t want to orchestrate a major event for what’s supposedly the biggest day of my life (that last point will have to be discussed in a future blog post someday).

We got engaged in July and spent a few weeks discussing potential ideas for locations and guest lists. It didn’t take long for us to realize that we wanted a small wedding. Neither Fernando nor I enjoy being in large groups of people, and I definitely don’t enjoy public speaking, even if it’s a declaration of intent to spend the rest of my life with someone. That’s an incredibly private matter to me, and as much as I adore my friends and family, I’ve been to quite a few weddings, and in most weddings, I barely even get two seconds to wish the bride and groom my best wishes before they’re rushed off to take care of something or pulled away by another guest. We both admitted that we’d rather save the money we’d spend on a lavish wedding day and use it to go on a sweet trip or buy some really awesome beer. Or even put it toward Fernando’s dream of someday owning a Ferrari.

We threw out a couple of ideas, but none seemed quite right. One day while on Google Hangouts with a friend, she jokingly mentioned that we should get married at the Minnesota Renaissance Festival, a place that holds a special place in our hearts because, as I like to say, it’s one of the few places on Earth where I feel like the normal one.

We called (ok, confession: I had that friend call because I hate calling people) and found out that they had a few openings in their Secret Garden, which could hold up to 12 guests. Because the Ren Fest only operates seven weekends out of the year, we had to make a choice: get married in a matter of weeks or wait a year. We knew we didn’t want to wait.

We settled on September 21st in honor of my darling Grandma Bonnie’s birthday. She passed away five years ago, and I miss her so very much. She was the best grandma in the world, and I know she would have loved Fernando. Especially his funny accent that cracks me up, like when he says “Burnsbill” instead of “Burnsville” or when he goes to “put fuel on the car,” which inevitably makes me picture the gasoline fight in Zoolander.

I immediately bought a dress on Modcloth in my favorite shade of blue. I’ve already worn my wedding dress three times in the almost three weeks we’ve been married, and I couldn’t be happier with my practical choice. I knew I wouldn’t want a traditional dress because I don’t like to store things that serve no purpose. And because the shade of blue was just perfect to be a Ravenclaw blue, my Harry Potter senses started tingling and it all spiraled from there.

My mom knit me a nice gold shawl to fit in with the Ravenclaw theme. I found Harry Potter-esque jewelry and wedding rings on Etsy and had them rushed to me. I bought a pair of brown shoes at Goodwill for $4.99 because the Ren Fest is muddy and dusty and I didn’t want to ruin a good pair. I didn’t wear makeup to our wedding because I don’t wear makeup. I did, however, douse my hair with a good dose of hairspray because apparently I equate helmet hair with being fancy.

I emailed a college friend and asked if she happened to have a last-minute opening to take some no-nonsense, no-jumping photos for me. Photography is her hobby- and she’s awesome at it!

My beautiful best friend made me a bouquet, a veil, Fernando’s boutonniere AND she even offered to officiate the ceremony. She wasn’t ordained, but thanks to a rush order of the somewhat puzzling Universal Life Church, she is now!

I threw together the ten-minute ceremony, complete with a reading by my delightful mom and vows that included the phrase “I accept the terms and conditions.”

The ceremony went off without a hitch and then we attended our favorite Danger Committee show. And that was that!

I guess, to sum up, we’re married now and it’s awesome. The biggest things that will change are that we now live together in a marvelous place with plenty of space for my crafts and Harry Potter paraphernalia and Fernando’s computers, and we now wear these rings that remind the world that we’re stuck together, even though I call it ‘pop’ and he erroneously calls it ‘soda.’ Some things will never change.

Couple 3

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Allyson Wonderland on October 11, 2013 at 7:16 am

    Thanks for the shout out! I wish everyone was as photogenic as you. 🙂

    Allyson

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom aka Marmee on October 12, 2013 at 7:39 am

    I loved everything about your wedding!!!! It was perfect. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lindsey Colson on October 12, 2013 at 11:06 am

    Love it, Lady. Proud of you. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Christina on October 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Absolutely delightful! Thanks for sharing this. It sounds perfect. I’m happy for you and I laaaahve you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

