Growing up is not for the weak-hearted

Growing up is not that fun. I mean, it definitely has its rewards- today marks one year of dating the fine stud in my life, and that is absolutely wonderful!

But there are just some parts I don’t like. Right now, I’m floundering on an issue that’s not earth-shattering, yet it’s consuming most of my thoughts. I’m 27, and I feel like I don’t have much to show for my life at the moment. 

A few weeks ago, it popped into my head that I could start looking for a house. My current roommate and I have an agreement that I’ll stay in her house until one of us gets married, and that time seems to be creeping up quickly for her. I started looking at houses online and got really into the idea. 

And then… I remembered. I remembered how much I don’t want to live in Minnesota for my entire life. I’m not really sure where, exactly, I do want to go, but I know for sure that Fernando and I both have Chicago and Spain on our radar for the future.

So, how am I supposed to reconcile these two parts of my soul that want such opposite things? I live and work in the suburbs and I can feel myself giving in to the suburban lifestyle that a few years ago made me want to tear my hair out. I keep buying all of this stuff that I don’t really need, but feel like I should have because everyone else around me does. And the saddest part is, I don’t even think twice about most of it when I buy it.

But then there’s the other half of me that wants to own next to nothing so that when the opportunity arises, I can up and move wherever I want to, whenever I want to. I can’t do that with an entire house of stuff so easily. 

So, what do I do? Which way do I go when I start looking for a new place to live? Sprawling? Tiny? My own? Shared? Do I keep accumulating things because that’s what people do here? What’s a girl to do?

 

Leave a Reply

