Dear Squeaks,

Dear Squeaks,

You may not know it yet, but that’s what I’m always going to call you in my mind since the first second I heard you yesterday when your mom called me to welcome you into the world. Even before she started talking, I heard you squeaking away.

Squeaks, you are barely a few hours old and I love you already. We all do, even though your big brother is currently more interested in playing cars than playing with you. He’ll come around (I hope).

I’m so excited to see what and where this world will bring you, kiddo. Are you going to like cars and machines as much as your brother? Are you going to prefer finger painting? What about bugs? I hear some kids like those a lot. Dinosaurs? How about knitting? I can teach you some pretty cool crafty things someday, Squeaks, but you’re going to have to learn to do it all left handed.

I hope you’ll like books as much as your big brother and I do. Your brother likes to read so much! Especially when I do funny voices for the people in the books. I sure do love books, Squeaks. Especially the ones about a boy named Harry Potter. I’ll tell you all about Harry someday on an adventure that just the two of us will have. It will probably take more than one adventure to get the whole story out, but don’t worry. There’s plenty of time.

Where should we go, Squeaks? The world is waiting for you to explore! I can’t wait to start planning our adventures. I bet your mom and dad won’t mind in a few weeks! We’ll start small, going around the block. Then maybe someday we’ll branch out and go to the park, and then maybe go somewhere in the car, if I can ever figure out how to use that contraption they call a car seat. When you’re big enough to see out the window and old enough to remember it, I’ll take you somewhere far away on an airplane, just the two of us. (Unless Uncle Nando wants to come too, but he’s good people. Plus, he usually has good snacks!)

I bet you’ll be smart like your brother, your mom and your dad. Your mom helped me learn how to read- she’s a really good teacher. And you know what? She’s pretty fun, too. If it weren’t for her, I wouldn’t have survived a few family dinners without her funny faces. Your dad knows his stuff, too. He can build cool things that I would never dream of. Watch out, though- he likes to turn off the lights on you when you’re not looking. He’s pretty tricky, that dad of yours. But he sure is cool!

I can’t wait to meet you in a few days, Squeaks. I can’t wait to see what kind of person you’re going to be and the funny things you’ll say now and later. Your family is pretty funny- I have high hopes for you, kid. We’re all a little weird, too. Sorry about that. (Maybe.)

Love,

Auntie How

Leave a Reply

