so this is love.

I have no intention of being one of ‘those’ girls that gets a boyfriend and suddenly can speak of nothing else. In fact, if you read the history of this blog you’ll see that I am morally opposed to girls like that (and to be fair, boys like that, too). I continue to be an independent soul with a life.

But as this is quite a nice shift in my life, I feel like this boy deserves some recognition for the sheer awesomeness he’s brought into my life in the past few months. He appeared in my life at one of the most frustrating, no-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel phases in this season of life, and he’s made it so much better.

A few examples:

  • He doesn’t bat an eye when I suggest we have ice cream for dinner. He drives me to the store to buy a pint and then shares it with me. Or he eats his own.
  • He is as equally enamored with a good beer as I am. No wine for us, please!
  • He drives me everywhere. He even will come and get me and bring me to his house because it takes a lot longer for lame-o me to get there on back roads.
  • He thinks I’m awesome, and tells me so on a daily basis.
  • When I accidentally take a nap on his couch when I’m supposed to be helping him unpack at his new place, he covers me up with a blanket and starts unpacking in another room to let me sleep.
  • He woos me with emoticons. (I have a severe soft spot for emoticons, ok?)
  • He knows that above all else, chocolate is always the answer. … Unless the answer is a giant 53″ teddy bear… which he then willing takes home once he finds out that due to a traumatic childhood experience, I’m terrified of any toy with eyes and can’t be left alone with them.
  • When I get devastating news, he lets me sob into his shoulder and doesn’t even flinch when I ugly cry and get snot on his shirt. When I get snot on his shirt, he hugs me harder.
  • He’s willing to come with me to line dancing tomorrow to meet my elderly line dancing friends. Um, he doesn’t know yet that one of them asked if he has a squeezable tush. Haha…

So, to sum up, I’m pretty lucky.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Elisabeth on July 21, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    I’m so happy for you! It was awesome to meet him and see how much joy and happiness he brings into your life!
    Also, I want to hear the story behind the childhood trauma of why you don’t like toys with eyes…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

