I’m a grownup now!

Well, it’s official. I’m moved into the new house (but not yet fully unpacked). I have my own level in a fabulous townhouse owned by a dear friend of mine. It’s delicious to have my own space again. I can slowly feel myself coming back into my usual self and out of this grumpy gills phase I’ve found myself in as of late.

I have a couch! And a giant coffee table that is perfectly suited to use to play the game ‘pounce.’ We even have a bread maker! I try to not fill my life with material possessions, but I have got to say… having my own couch is marvelous. For the past year and a half, I’ve used the floor as my main hangout as my old roommate used the loveseat/couch for her own entertainment. It’s amazing how much a couch can give a person some new perspective in life.

Speaking of new perspective, I need to be a bit persnickety for a moment and express my frustration at a song that seems to be played on endless loop on the local top 40 station these days. While I find the music to be catchy, the lyrics make me want to barf.

See I’ve been waiting all day
For you to call me, baby
So let’s get up, let’s get on it
Don’t you leave me brokenhearted tonight
Come on, that’s right
Honest baby, I’ll do
Anything you want to
So can we finish what we started
Don’t you leave me brokenhearted tonight
Come on, that’s right

What. In. The. World. Are. We. Teaching. Our. Children? This song offends me to my core. That, and she ends every chorus with “Ugh, Cheerio!” … That’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard, and I work with college students. What have we done with music these days? I don’t want my top 40 to be filled with songs by women that are so desperate for a man’s attention that they’ll sing about waiting by the phone all day.

Ugh.

Cheerio.

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Incellovert on April 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Congrats on getting your own space! I think we can forgive you dipping into a bit of materialism by acquiring a couch. 😉 As for music…well, there’s a reason why most of my music collection is composed of works written before the 1850s (yes, I got the century correct). 😉

    (I’m not entirely sure if I meant the pun or not…blarg)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

