One of those stages

I’m having one of those stages in which I pretty much want to punch everyone and everything I meet. I’d like to chalk it up to not getting nearly enough ‘introvert’ time thanks to an overwhelming amount of work on my plate and lots of other random activities clogging up my free time. Don’t get me wrong; I love the friends that I hang out with and I am thankful for a job that I enjoy doing (most of the time), but if I don’t get some alone time soon, I think it is not going to be good.

In other news, this is how I feel about my life right now. I’ve basically been walking around chanting “It’s ok that you’re not married. It’s ok that you’re not married. It’s ok that you’re not married,” in my head for about two weeks now and it doesn’t seem to be helping. I feel like no matter where I look I’m being bombarded with reminders (especially in my workplace) that being a 26-year-old spinster is about the worst thing I could ever be and I better find a man quick. I’m not even convinced I even ever want to BE married, but there you go. Peer pressure.

I talk a lot of smack about not caring what people think of me, and it sucks because I really, really do. And I hate that. SO MUCH. Because words hurt. Even when they arrive in email or text form. My world, unfortunately, has been full of a lot of hurtful words for the past few months, even amidst all of the words of joy and affirmation I’ve received from other sources.

There you go. That’s the honest truth.  As you know, about half of my blog posts turn into a rant about not wanting to be like everyone else just for the sake of being like everyone else. It sure would be nice if my brain and heart would finally just convince themselves of that and stop being bothered by the comparison game. Then I could blog about more substantial things like the sweet book club I joined or the fact that I dressed up as a dead ringer for Velma Dinkley a few days ago for a rockingly marvelous Oscar shindig.

Image

Or I could blog about super substantial things that have nothing to do with my personal life.

But instead, I feel the need to dump all of this out in a semi-public place. Why? Who knows. But now you do. 🙂

At least I know that in a week and a half I’ll be performing a wickedly awesome hip-hop/Irish jig combo line dance with a bunch of senior citizens. That’s pretty awesome. Right? … Actually, I don’t need you to answer that.

Image

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elisabeth P. on March 8, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    We can celebrate being awesome and not-married together. I’m in no rush to tie the knot, especially since there isn’t a single guy I’m even remotely interested in right now.

    Reply

  2. Oh Holly, only in a bubble like your place of employment does 26 and unmarried seem weird. We stand out there for being child free. You are really, really, not old.

    Anywho, I love you and know how awesome you are

    Reply

Leave a Reply

