Paparazzi

Happy birthday to my very favorite celebrity, Darren Criss!

… Yes, my friends. You see, I’ve become one of THOSE girls. One of those girls that is so consumed with celebrity culture that she forgets who and what and where and when and why she is … because nothing ever matters more than the latest Hollywood gossip.

It came upon me slowly, like a frog in cold water slowly boiling on the stove, or whatever that Sunday school example is that I’m supposed to remember. I’d like to blame it on Tumblr, but really, I can blame it on nothing and no one but myself.

For the past few weeks (months, even), when people ask me how I’ve been, the response has been, “Oh, really busy!” And it’s true. I’ve been very busy. I’ve been very busy stalking celebrities that I will never meet and quite frankly, could give less than a flying fart in space about, and yet here I sit. Here I sit on my bedroom floor with six separate Firefox windows open, each with a different Tumblr page open for optimal celeb stalkage.

It’s become an interesting adventure. I’m very busy, of course. Very busy learning details that I’ll never be able to use because they don’t actually matter.

If you know me at all, you know that my laptop is basically an extension of my body and soul. I rarely am more than ten feet away from it and sometimes get shaky if I can’t check my email for an entire day (not the case when out of the country, though. Crossing international borders does something to me…)

As I sat in the presence of my beautiful friend Senja yesterday while wedged in between the inexplicably tempting cushions on her couch, I got out my computer. Not only were we already watching a movie (A Cinderella Story: Once Upon a Song), we were also chatting AND I felt the need to check my interwebs for updates. Now, I’m pretty decent at multitasking and can do a lot of things at once, but really. Did I really need to check things in the middle of a movie?

What if I instead spent my free time reading an actual book instead of celebrity headlines? What if I gasp exercised? What if I paid attention to the political happenings (at present I don’t even know if I could tell you the names of people still in the running)?

So many questions, and not enough brain space to think about it at present as I am exhausted after staying up far too late with my dad talking travel plans.

Also, I went to church tonight for the first time in a very long time. And for the first time in an even longer time, I actually didn’t feel like gagging during the sermon. Perhaps I have found the community my heart has longed for all these long months. Perhaps I should blog about that next time…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elisabeth P. on February 7, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    “a flying fart in space” — I’m going to have to try to use that one in conversation!

    Reply

  2. Yay! Are we going again on Sunday? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

