A confession.

I’m an introvert.

Did you know that?

There are some days that when I get home from work, the only thing I can do is lay on the floor in my confusingly large bedroom, turn on my iTunes as high as I can without disturbing the neighbors, and faceplant into the carpet. And then stay there until I can breathe again. Sometimes I stay that way until I actually decide to give up and go to bed.

Talking to people sometimes takes a lot out of me. Depends on the day, and it depends on the people.

Somehow, music makes me turn into a functional human being again. I have no idea how it works or why, but it does. On the days when my roommate is actually awake/home when I am (which usually only occurs about once every few weeks), she likes to talk to me. A lot. Especially right when I get home. She’s an extrovert to the max. So, I tell her I need ten minutes. And then I march right into Holly-land and give myself ten minutes of blaring sound. And then I emerge ready for conversation.

I honestly do not know what I would do without music. I listen to it almost 24/7. I listen to it while I eat. I listen to it while I drive. I listen to it while I shower. I listen to it while I read. I listen to it while I work. I listen to it while I sleep. You get the picture.

What do I listen to? Almost everything. Not because I’m not picky… I am quite selective of my music choices, but there is so much great stuff out there that my collection is always growing. Of course, there’s always a need to have a song for every mood. And songs for memories. And songs for inside jokes. And songs for the future.

My YouTube playlists are out of control; there is so much music I’d like to buy, but for now, I just track it on YouTube until I decide I can’t live without it in my possession. đŸ™‚

I listen to folk, country, indie, bluegrass, piano rock, pop, 80s, oldies, K-pop, Spanish-language stuff from a variety of countries… and, yes, musicals. Mostly the Sound of Music and A Very Potter Musical and its Sequel. And yes, I can sing every song on those soundtracks. Sometimes when I need ten minutes of introvert time, I turn on the song “Back to Hogwarts” which lasts 9:54. I sing it from start to finish. Sometimes I even act out the speaking parts. And sometimes I dance. … Ok, I always dance. … Unless I’m faceplanting. Then it doesn’t work.

And you know what?

Music makes it better.

Then I can breathe again. And life goes on.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elisabeth P. on December 11, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I’m an introvert too, but I use silence to find my balance again. I’m on the opposite end of the spectrum–I rarely listen to music. But yeah, talking with too many people in a day, all I want to do is curl up in my cocoon of blankets on my bed and go to sleep.

    Reply

  2. It helped me a lot to realize that I’m an introvert. So many of my weird preferences began to fall into place. I also use music to refresh, although lately I’ve been into podcasts, they help me refresh too. Realizing I’m an introvert gave me the insight I needed to analytically study social interactions that I used to struggle wtih (meeting new people in large settings) and come up with personal techniques that help me manage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

