Hate is a strong word…

… but I really, really, really don’t like winter.

I had an excellent time at line dancing tonight (because CLEARLY only fun times can be had when dancing in a line dance circle to “Go Tell It on the Mountain”) and was unhappily surprised to see a powdery white substance all over my car. I don’t have enough words to express how much snow strikes immediate fear into my heart. I am terrified enough about driving and snow really does not help things. At all. I turn into a blubbering baby when behind the wheel. A five-month panic has already set in my heart. I can barely breathe right now just thinking about driving to work tomorrow, and the winter has barely even begun.

It is going to be a very, very, very long winter, not unlike the one Laura Ingalls Wilder survived long, long ago (except, you know, I probably won’t have to tie myself to my apartment building with a rope in order to find my way back after milking the cows…). I’m probably going to need a lot of chocolate to get through it.

Chocolate, and love. And lots of encouragement. And maybe a chauffeur.

But if the chauffeur never shows up, I’ve already got some encouragement lined up. I have a dear friend that likes to send me love letters at work. It all started back in the ol’ college days when for my senior year I rented a locker on campus because I had too many books to fit in my backpack. She’d slide beautiful written, hilariously witty notes through the slots in my locker, which I would find after class or work.

But, see, I’m not a senior anymore (though the amount of time I spend at the senior center would say otherwise) so now my love letters get delivered to our office inbox, mixed in with student paperwork, invoices, and junk mail.

They make my heart beat faster. Sometimes they include lyrics. Sometimes they don’t. But either way, they help me make it through the day.

Dear Holly,

I know this isn’t the usual sort of love letter I send you, but bear with me. It’s almost Thanksgiving and so I wanted to say thanks: for being my friend, for teaching me to read children’s books in Spanish, for talking, listening, having an excellent soft right hand, for listening to “Total Eclipse of the Heart” in the freezing cold during the lunar eclipse that night, for liking me even though I’m weird, for loving the things you love, and for being who you are. I am very glad to know you.

Love,

Noelle

PS. I’ll find you in the morning sun, and when the night is new I’ll be looking at the moon, but I’ll be seeing you.

These are the words and memories and friends that will get me through the dark. They make the journey a lot more fun.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alyssa Boob on November 30, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    I used to be a nut for the snow and the cold, but then I got into that car accident two years ago and then I bought my own car and now I’m terrified of crashing and having to buy a new car when i know I can’t afford it. I know your fear now.

    Reply

  2. Snow driving sucks, and if I worked from home, I would probably never leave my house during the winter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

