The Never-Ending Birthday

I swear, I usually want to punch people that celebrate their birthday “weeks” or “months.” I am usually not one of those people.

This year, inadvertently, I have become one of those people.

Last night was the mega hootenanny, shindig, shenanigan fest that I like to call the Tenth Anniversary of my Sixteenth Birthday.

When I was 16 (or maybe I was 15, in my old age I really don’t remember all those years ago…), my friend Senja and I had a combined birthday party since her big day follows shortly after mine. This year, we decided to re-create that event and invited a few mutual high school friends and a few of our own college/present life friends over. It was kind of an odd mix, as many people didn’t know each other, but it ended up being perfect.

It was a blast. We had a great time playing Pounce, which is my favorite card game ever. We used to play it with a group of 8-16 people during our seventh-hour “resource” in high school, which was basically a free period in which we were not allowed to leave the cafeteria. Senja and I started it, and our friends joined in throughout the year as our productivity levels decreased, and it escalated into a huge cult following. Well, as big as a huge cult following can be at an average Minnesotan high school. Ha. We also played board games and word games, and just nerded out to the max. We made homemade pizzas and had a dance party and basically just celebrated life for an entire evening, well into the morning. (Probably not the best idea for curing my jet lag…)

I feel so incredibly lucky to have friends that make me bust a gut laughing. I also love that I have friends that know me so well they buy me bouquets of vegetables instead of flowers because they know I can’t stand flowers. I love that my crazy friends are all completely different, and yet so important to my heart. I love that I have friends that don’t understand how to play Scattergories until halfway through the first round and they exclaim, “Oooohhh! I get it now!” 😉

I couldn’t have asked for a better way to celebrate being 26, although I sincerely hope I can stop celebrating it now before it turns into my 27th… 😉

See, you know my friends love me when they buy me a bouquet of peppers instead of flowers...

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Alyssa Boob on October 10, 2011 at 4:15 am

    We need to get together so we can celebrate together since I unfortunately had to work on Saturday. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

