I turned 26!

My 26th birthday was probably the most eventful birthday I have ever and will ever have.

First of all, it really lasted three days, because October 2nd started in Japan 14 hours earlier than it did in Minnesota, and guess what, it stayed October 2nd far later in Minnesota! 🙂

So really, it was a birthday weekend extravaganza!

We stayed up until midnight just do a celebratory dance, and then slept in on Sunday. Then, because it was MY BIRTHDAY, I got to pick EVERYTHING.

So, we started the day with nutella/banana/oatmeal flapjacks. (Mostly the oatmeal was there since Becky has a bajillion- that’s a technical term- pounds of oatmeal to use before she comes home.)

THEN, we skyped with her family and they sang me happy birthday.

And then, wearing my favorite shirt I’ve ever bought, we watched all three beautiful hours of A Very Potter Musical, although the shirt makes absolutely no sense if you’ve never watched it. I don’t think you understand how much I appreciate/love/admire Darren Everett Criss, who portrays Harry Potter in this version. I’m not gonna lie, I have seen almost every YouTube video he has ever been in (and have them favorited), stalk blogs that follow his almost every move, and watch Glee only to drool during every scene he’s in, which thankfully is much more frequent this season now that he is a regular, not just a guest star.

Hi, my name is Holly, and I have a mad fangirl crush on a celebrity at the age of 26. I have a problem, and I’m not even sorry.

Then, I gained back some sense of normalcy and Becky and I went on the subway and people watched for hours. I love people watching almost as much as I love Darren. True story.

Becky and I had a great time walking around town, commenting on people’s outfits and speaking horribly bad Spanish. You see, I really like speaking Spanish, but it’s almost more fun when you speak it like an eighth-grader that’s just learning it. I have no idea why it’s so entertaining. You know how some people dance awkwardly for fun? Or wear ugly Christmas sweaters? That’s kind of what speaking bad Spanish is like for me.

And we had soft cream for lunch. 🙂

We also went on a brewery tour… in Japanese. 🙂

And then, oh. HER FRIENDS THREW ME A SURPRISE BIRTHDAY PARTY. How great is that?! There was cake and ice cream and everything!

Just when I thought life couldn’t get any better, it did. There were presents. Chocolate, sweet color pens, nerdy Japanese stickers, and a homemade scarf!

After that, we watched an episode of Glee (= Darren time!!) and spent the rest of the night watching some of my favorite episodes of the three-minute sarcastic “news” show that I love, Target:Women. Becky had never seen it, and I couldn’t let her go another minute without seeing it.

And then I woke up on Monday and had like 30 billion Facebook notifications telling me happy birthday! What a great day!

One response to this post.

  1. I’m glad you had a fantabulous birthday. That lasted 3 days! I fully endorse eating ice cream for lunch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

