Arigato

Well, there you have it. The one useful word I’ve managed to remember thus far in my Japanese adventure. Arigato. (Thank you.) Everything else manages to go in one ear and out the other, which is frustrating.

I do not speak a word of this language, and it is killing me, Smalls. Killing me.

i may not speak japanese, but i have perfected the peace sign. 🙂

I’ve been to places that speak languages I don’t understand, but it’s never been like this. But strangely, it seems normal. I’ve taken the subway by myself to different locations and navigated restaurant menus by myself even though I can’t read a word. Becky and I have laughed until we cried, eaten our weight in sushi and other foods well-known in Hokkaido (the northern island where she lives), explored new places and visited some of her favorites.

Today I had the lucky opportunity to explore a university that accepts our study abroad students. It was great fun and full of lots of awkward moments because guess who forgot to bring her business cards?!?!?! This one! Aside from that, though, it was great to be able to tour the university so I can help students back home have a better picture of what life here is like (and then hide in their suitcase and come back…). Also, I’m apparently the first international visitor from any study abroad program. Awkward…

And, of course, we spent a good portion of the evening giggling over English names of certain snack foods. Yes, my 26th birthday is in two days, and yes, I still really enjoy potty humor.

Cream colons and crunky nude balls. ::snicker::

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elisabeth P. on September 30, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    So, uh, what do Crunky nude balls taste like?

    Reply

  2. wow. Those are special. Just wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

