26

This is my 100th post! Woohoo!

Today is Sunday. In a few Sundays, I will be an entire year older. That’s always a weird feeling, because it’s like I suddenly expect life to be a whole lot different, and it isn’t. But that’s ok. My 25th year has been pretty great. Ok, overwhelmingly great. Let’s be honest. There have been so many days this year that have caused me to burst into tears of joy. Years 22, 23, and 24 weren’t all that great thanks to a little thing my Denver friends and I like to call the “quarter-life crisis” phenomenon. I cried more in those years than I hope I ever have to again.

In fact, the beginning of my 25th year wasn’t even very good. I think I was so bored I ended up walking almost seven miles around my neighborhood because I didn’t have anything else to do. And I simultaneously injured my knee AND decided that running a marathon for my 26th birthday was a genius idea. You know, 26.2 miles for my 26th…

Ha, so not going to happen. But plenty of other things WILL happen.

The promise I made to myself on my 25th birthday was that the coming year would be full of awesome. And it has been. So much so. Renewed friendships, new friendships… so much laughter. So much dancing. So much world hopping. So much learning. So much fun. Because I woke up one day and realized that awesomeness is a choice.

So, I choose it, and claim it as my own for year 26. Join me, won’t you? We’re in for a wild ride. šŸ™‚

(Plus, I have a magic wand now. How can life get any better for a Harry Potter nerd?!)

One response to this post.

  1. Awesomeness is so totally a choice. I completely agree. It requires sitting to actually think about what makes one happy, and doing those things more than things that make one unhappy. This is not such a hard formula, but a lot of people have trouble with it. Soemtimes I have trouble with it. Best of luck on year 26, it’s done well for me so far. šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

