Oh, hey there.

Happy, Kimicita? This blog is churning out new entries like there’s no tomorrow. 🙂 It’s like we’re back in Spain and you have to pull me away from the computer to go paseando all over again…

Well, friends, I am almost back to normal levels of health. I stayed home from work yesterday, hoping to sleep all day, and instead was woken up at o dark o’clock by Roommate, who was tired of hearing my hacking cough, barged into my room and proceeded to throw my nice, warm covers off and take my temperature via my armpit.

She pretends she cares, but I think it’s all just a ploy to get practice before she starts PA school next fall…

And that is my life.

We’re both battling musically tonight. I was going to go line dancing at the senior center, but because I’m sick, I didn’t. So I keep turning my music up louder in my room, and she keeps doing the same in hers. I’m going to win. Take that, Michael Bublé. YOU ARE GOING DOWN.

I am also Skyping with a dear friend that lives nowhere near me. Can I just say how much I love technology? I really, really do. I am so thankful for the ability to carry on conversations (for free) like she’s sitting right next to me, when in actuality she’s thousands and thousands of miles away from me, sitting in an internet cafe in the sweltering heat of Central America.

So many of my friends these days are nowhere near me, and that makes me sad. But it also makes me really happy sometimes, because it gives me built-in travel buddies!

Already twice this year (technically, thrice) I’ve have the fortune to travel to visit friends that live in faraway places!

i ran a 10k with Kmae in Boulder

i went to a sweet wedding and reunited with some of my Denver favorites in Virginia

i hung out at the beach in Costa Rica with la gringona

Because it’s hard to say goodbye to friends sometimes, but it’s so, so, so incredibly sweet when you find yourself saying hello all over again, just like it says in one of my favorite John Mayer songs:

And if you never stop when you wave goodbye
You just might find if you give it time
You will wave hello again
You just might wave hello again

And that’s the way this wheel keeps working now
That’s the way this wheel keeps working now

So here’s me, waving hello again, to this one:

Juareb and Piehol

This one is special to my heart. We’ve been good friends all throughout college, from the first awkward moments of our first group project, to holding hands (and falling asleep) at our graduation. She came to visit me in Denver. We laughed, we played with horses, we climbed mountains, we played Killer Bunnies, we visited my “friendly” little corner store Freaky’s that sells weapons, pipes and “stuff.” (I’m not even joking.)

Now that we both live in the same city, we get to hang out quite often. Except for the fact that half the year she usually lives in Guatemala. And by an interesting twist of life, she’s currently in Japan until mid-November. I’m still not even sure how it all happened, but somehow in a little over a week, I’ll be on a plane to see her in her little corner of northern Japan.

I can’t think of a better way to celebrate my 26th birthday than goofing off in a foreign country with my little Bequita. I can’t wait. 🙂 Although… it really is going to take a lot to top a trip to Freaky’s…

One response to this post.

  1. Yes I am happy that you are taking up your blog again. I need my dose of Holicita.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

