An honest-to-goodness update

Dear ones, I’m actually going to post actual content for the first time in months, thanks to a certain friend that told me my blog posts are like chicken soup for the soul. (You can expect a nice lengthy email from me tomorrow, dearest!)

I’ve fallen out of the habit of blogging for a few reasons. One reason being I have discovered the magical world of Tumblr, which is a microblogging website that allows me to stalk keep up with the latest celebrity gossip (endless pictures of Darren Criss, ahem) and also be inspired by a lot of really wonderful people. It’s a different kind of blogging.

Another reason I’ve stopped blogging is because I have no idea who even reads this. I know I have this posted on my facebook, so I’m guessing that a few of you are randomly stalking me (hello there) and that’s fine. I’m fully aware that one of the most beautiful and the most frustrating parts of the Internet is that it allows you to say exactly what you want to say to the masses, even if you’re not sure who exactly that is…

But the past two weeks have kind of rekindled my interest in blogging again, even if it’s only for the three of you I know reading it. You see, I’ve survived the first two weeks of the school year. It’s been hectic, crazy, and delicious. My student workers are back and energized by encouraging summers (at least for now) and we’ve got some great ideas on the docket.

On a personal note, this new school year has inspired some changes in my own identity. Oh, goodness, nothing that serious, I promise. I still am the very same Hol that you all know (and hopefully love), just improved a bit. I was having a semi-serious conversation over a delectable bowl of pasta with a friend about a month ago, and it was brought to my attention that I needed a serious wardrobe overhaul. One of the challenges of working at a slightly fashion-forward workplace (a university in which many students wake up at the crack of dawn to begin primping) is that, well, I can’t compete. I am a jeans and t-shirt kinda girl through and through… but that doesn’t cut it in the professional world, as much as I’ve tried to ignore it.

But the problem with being a jeans and t-shirt kinda girl is that it doesn’t adequately express me as a person. And let’s be honest, I’m pretty great. 😉

So, I’ve traded in my sweaters, t-shirts and khakis for a few new pieces that make me hopefully not look like a student, and could quite possibly make me look like a normal almost-26-year-old. Not that normalcy is something I’ve ever desired, but it’s been nothing but a whirlwind of compliments in the two weeks I’ve been wearing new clothes and accessories. It’s quite strange, actually, to receive these compliments, because I have never actually cared one single iota about the clothes I wear. And now all of a sudden, it’s like I exist on people’s radars. Part of me is completely disgusted at the shallow vanity of it all, and part of me is strangely intrigued by the attention. Huh. I almost shudder to think about what could happen if one day I *gasp* WORE MAKEUP.

But don’t hold your breath. I still continue to be morally opposed to makeup.

In case you want to see a few of the outfits we’ve put together (oh, yes, this is quite the team effort, since I have no idea what I’m doing, she basically just tells me what to wear and I obey), feel free to look below. Why, yes, yes I DO use PhotoBooth in my cubicle to take pictures of my outfits. And no, I feel no shame. (But if any of my student workers are reading this, I will withhold your Thursday snacks if you dare laugh…)

One response to this post.

  1. Yaaaaaaaaaaay! Furthermore, I’m thrilled, THRILLED at your lovely jacket. I am a fan. Isn’t it interesting how much that crap matters? I decided to spruce up my wardrobe recently and I subscribe now to lucky. Yes, a shopping mag. Yes, me.

    And now you’ve promised to update more, so I’m holding you to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

