Thankful.

Ok. I’m going to be honest. The cynical side of me is not really a fan of Thanksgiving.

And my personal favorite:

(Luckily, this year only one of those rings true…)

But in all truth, I do appreciate the chance to think about everything I have to be thankful for, including the ability to end phrases with a preposition. 🙂

It’s something I need to work on more, because working on this once a year is not enough. I think I’ll make that one of my resolutions for 2011. Appreciate everything a heck of a lot more.

I’m thankful for the family that I have been given, because they love me and take care of me and have provided for me. They make me so happy!

I’m thankful for the fact that when I wake up in the morning, I have lights and electricity and running water.

I’m thankful for the fact that when I go to bed at night, I have a bed and shelter that not only keeps me warm, but allows me to entertain my friends and family.

I’m thankful for the car that I have to drive. As much as I hate driving, I recognize that a very large percentage of the world population will never be able to have this privilege, and I need to stop whining and moaning about it.

I’m thankful for the fact that even though I was born with a disability, (I’m handiCAPABLE according to Sue Sylvester) my legs still managed to carry me 3.1 miles in the 5k this morning next to my rock star mom AND helped me beat my previous record.

I’m thankful for the paycheck that I receive that allows me to buy food and pay for shelter in the same month, in addition to allowing me to spend money on entertainment and other things that enrich my life and relationships.

I’m thankful for all of the other privileges I’ve neglected to mention. I’m thankful for the beautiful places I’ve been able to see, the heartwarming friends that have come my way, the things that make me laugh, and the mind that allows me to understand the depths of the complexities of this world.

Leave a Reply

